The Story of the Belle Tout Lighthouse
by Rob Wassell
Built in 1832 and decommissioned in 1902, it has been a tea-shop, a home, partly destroyed during the second world war and lovingly rebuilt in the 50’s. Owned and filmed by the BBC, moved due to erosion – and now, Belle Tout has been beautifully renovated and refurbished.
With 360 degree views of the English Channel, Beachy Head, the countryside of the South Downs National Park and the enigmatic Seven Sisters – Belle Tout is unique in every way.
This is the story of the Belle Tout Lighthouse.
(Now in its second edition)